Build idea

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kpeterson234

Reaction score
Let me start off with a little history, and my reasoning. I want honest opinions if anyone thinks it's worth it.

I have a 98 K1500. 5.7 vortec, 4L60e, 14 bolt semi float rear, short bed extended cab half ton truck with 160,000 miles. I've had it since I was 16, I'm 24 now. It's the best truck I've ever owned. It was passed down to me through my family, and its a really sentimental truck. I tow a lot, and I go off the beaten path quite a bit. The truck is in really good shape, but in all reality, I beat the out of it. I've debated many times buying a newer one ton or 3/4 ton, but the more I think about it, I cant part ways with it.

I'm a mechanic, I have a lot of experience with these trucks, I've rebuilt the engines, transfer cases, differentials, and all that good stuff on these things, as well as all the others (Chevy Ford Dodge) I specialize in 3/4 ton and larger gas and diesel truck heavyline repair. So that being said, I have most the tools, time, and equipment to do whatever to this truck. By the way I'm not saying I'm the best or anything, I've just worked on a lot of them.

Anywhoo, here's my idea...

I want to build the out of my truck. My goal isnt speed, but durability. A solid front axle, one ton chassis pickup with a gmt400 body. With what I know about them I know I would have to start ground up. I know the frames are quite different from the half ton to one tons, so thats where I would start.

So here's the plan:

Find a 3/4 ton HD frame, I dont remember the RPO code, but I know they made them for an ext cab short bed and I've found them for sale, and build it on the frame with no body.