Bang for the buck Functional Renewal of rust belt '99 C2500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The
PO must have wiped off the dust on the plastic bezel using a dry cloth,
and given how soft the clear plastic is, that's a recipe for thousands of
tiny scratches that make for a hazy, indistinct view -- especially if direct
sun comes in through the driver's side window.
Nice work! When I was a dealer technician twenty-five years ago the rule was "DO NOT TOUCH THE GAUGE FACE!" There was no way to remove fingerprints without scratching the plastic.

Road Trip

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
How to actually open the POR-15 can more than once...and lower the price per use significantly

In a couple of previous posts (#84) & (#87) I shared some photos of using POR-15 to protect the steel wheels
and misc. brake bits from the rust belt blues here in upstate NY.

To be perfectly candid, I have a love/hate relationship with this stuff. It works the best of everything I've tried
to date. (but am always interested to hear from anyone who's found something that works even better for them.)

Even if something worked as well, but was less expensive, I'd consider jumping ship. (By the way, that whole
"Paint Over Rust" thing is a load of hooey.) Just like always, for long-term success, it's all about the preparation.

OK, I'm going to spare all of us from a detailed How to Fight Rust this evening. Instead, I wanted to share a simple
fix for the single most irritating thing about using POR-15: How do I get the *@#*&#! lid removed subsequent to
the initial opening? If you make the mistake of replacing the lid to the container metal-to-metal it will never come