97 5.7 runs on 7 cylinders but won't on 8

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jrivers0688

Reaction score
I have a 97 k1500 with 5.7 with maybe 220k on the truck ran fine then sat for about year then wouldn't start throws a p1345 code sounds like a intake valve is stuck open when cranking so I pulled a valve cover off and was cycling the motor and it started it valves look to be fine won't start with all plug wires hooked up but unplug #3 and starts right up I checked the plug wire to make sure it wasn't grounding out not it has new cap rotor cam sensor and I'm kind of at a loss on what to look for next any advice would help I'm a diesel mechanic and forgot about ignition systems years ago

L31MaxExpress

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
WAG, if it is not a defective new cap, it has a blown head gasket between 3&5 or a stuck valve in #3. Obviously #3 has a problem, diagnostics should start there. A bad cap could be causing #3 to spark at random times, similarly a blown head gasket between 3 and 5 could ignite #5 during the intake/compression stroke.

1998_K1500_Sub

Nitro Junkie
Supporting Member
Reaction score
won't start with all plug wires hooked up but unplug #3 and starts right up

When you say "won't start" what exactly do you mean?

Does the starter fail to turn the engine continuously?

Does the starter crank continuously but the engine never fires on any cylinder?

Or... what?

Reflect on @L31MaxExpress post and read-on.

SB Chevy firing order is 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2

@L31MaxExpress suggested that a bad head gasket could ignite #5 as the combustion blows-over from #3.

Considering the firing order, #3 would be approaching TDC and #5 would have sucked almost a full A/F charge but is not yet on the compression stroke; in fact it's approaching BTC just prior to compression.