1991 C 1500 odometer trip reset

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

caminonut

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello,
I’m new to the form, I have a 1990 Chevy Silverado, that I recently converted the dash cluster from the moon gauges over to the needle gauges with tack using a 1991 dash cluster With the help of some great information from Richard aka Someotherguy that I found on this form.
My question is everything in the dash works as it should other than the trip reset it keeps getting stuck.
When I start out, pressing it to go back to zero, it usually ends up at maybe 10 and then stops. Sometimes if I stop at a light, it will stop working when I stop at the light and would have to push it back to zero to get it to start working again to no avail as it will always stop again
So my question is where can I get a replacement for just the trip meter to put in a 91 tack cluster, or if there is a other year that would possibly fit like 92 to 94 if I could find a cluster for parts.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
John aka caminonut

caminonut

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thanks you for that link, after looking through that, he replaced his 94 with a 91 trip set that has the slot.
That is what mine looks like with a slot driven by a spring we’re his does not have the slot and is driven by a plastic piece instead.
Now this makes me think I must have one from a 91 to fix mine, Unless both pieces from a 92 to 94 with a speedo and trip set together can be put into a 91 if the wire plug is the same.
been trying to find one for a 91 and so far I have not found any other than the set ups for the Moon gauges, which looks completely different.

caminonut

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Update on this cluster,
After being unable to find a trip set to straighten this cluster out.