‘92 5.7 tbi stalls after tach goes crazy

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ninety-two

Reaction score
I’m new to posting here but not to reading. I’m also not a great mechanic, at least I’m not great at diagnosing, but I can wrench a bit. Anyway please excuse my ignorance. I’m trying.

5.7 tbi in a ‘92 K1500. My work truck. I recently threw a bunch of parts at it. Surging idle and crap mpg, I figured some deep-tune parts I could do myself might actually be an inexpensive place to start. Cap, rotor, plugs, wires, O2 sensor, TPS, MAP sensor, fuel filter and a thermostat because I needed it.

Much improved….for about 20 miles. Then following a warm start it stalls. Starts right up but stalls again. And again. I notice the tach is bouncing up and down really fast, faster than the flywheel would actually let the engine rev, but stalls when tach crashes. Couldn’t find a vacuum leak with propane. I’m absolutely stumped. I’d be so disappointed to call a tow after I did all that….

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Then following a warm start it stalls. Starts right up but stalls again. And again. I notice the tach is bouncing up and down really fast, faster than the flywheel would actually let the engine rev, but stalls when tach crashes
It happens only when the engine is warm right? This sounds like the proverbial Ignition Control Module going out. It may also be related to the Pickup Coil in the distributor. Unfortunately, you can take them out to test and they can prove it's bad but, they can't prove it's good. There's a lot of back and forth about who's still making quality parts but, stay away from cheap parts, only buy quality ones. If you see an ICM on Rock Auto, Summit Racing, etc. Then see one on Flee Bay for $49.99 less, be skeptical! HTH

Ninety-two

Reaction score