New to site - 96' L31 problems.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Wigglesworth

Reaction score
Newbie here. Lurked for a while, decided to join and possibly get some insight to my truck problems.

I've had my 96' cab and chassis 3500 for a couple years now, and it's been a constant fight to keep it running right. It's had a hard life, but mechanicly seems sound. Truck has 4:10 gears and a 4L80 trans.

Here's a short list of what's been done since I owned it....

Upgraded MPFI spider
Replaced exhaust from down pipes back. No cats (some bozo cut em off already) dual super 44 flowmasters and turn downs.
Plugs, wires, cap and rotor
Fuel filter
Air filter
Cam retard checked with tech 2 scanner - spot on
Fuel pressure is 60psi key on, engine not running
Running is 55psi, spikes to 60 when accelerating

Compression checks at 170psi +/- 5psi on all 8 cylinders.

Verified every sensor and every ground I can find. Verified injector signal via node lights, etc, etc...

Ok, now on to the issues....

Cruising speed, truck will stutter. Not like shake, but just like you turned the key off and on real fast. Always recovers. Mostly happens on deceleration after creating a hill.

Truck seems to have great power, until I hook up to a trailer. Then it feels like your dragging a parachute behind us. The trailer is a standard 16' utility with 2 mowers. 3000lbs tops. All bearings are good. I would think the truck wouldn't even know it was back there.

But here's the kicker, it doesn't do it all the time. It's intermittent. Some days it runs like its on rails, some days it runs like crap.

I'm leaning on replacing the distributor or fuel pump, but I hate to throw money at it.

Any help guys?

Thanks in advance.

Wigglesworth

Reaction score
Forgot to mention, distributer gear looks great, and truck throws no CEL codes.

skylark

I'm Awesome