Vortec Heads

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Matoolis

Reaction score
I've been reading alot about mods and upgrades for a TBI 350 and one of the main ones i've heard is vortec heads...so is this a brand of heads or is it taking the actual heads from a Vortec motor? because i have a donor truck that has a 5.7 Vortec(97') in it and i was thinking about taking the heads from it if thats the case. If so are there any other mods that are required for this swap? I'm very new to TBI motors, But i'm pretty familiar with carb 350's and the Vortec one's...Thanks!

SilveradoGuy85

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
If the whole 5.7 Vortec is in good shape you might want to consider swapping the engine. The 97 like my 98 has sequential fuel injection which is a lot better than TBI.

Matoolis

Reaction score
Well the vortec needs a new injection system is why i was thinking the heads..if i was to swap motors would it work with the current transmission that in it?

Horns

Tiff's Wedding Crasher
Reaction score
Well the vortec needs a new injection system is why i was thinking the heads..if i was to swap motors would it work with the current transmission that in it?

Yes, you would need to swap computers, harness, etc though, so It's not really worth it.

Vortec heads from a Vortec engine or a set of GMPP Vortec heads will be a HUGE improvement.

Only other modification you will need is an intake manifold. The Vortec heads have a different mounting pattern. The cheapest thing for this would be to get a Vortec intake for a carb and then get a carb to TBI adapter.

70bird

Reaction score
I'm curious about this too, and wonder if Vortec heads will offer a noticeable improvement with the stock cam?

SilveradoGuy85

I'm Awesome
Reaction score