Head Swap Options For 5.7L 350 TBI Engine

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Majoraslayer

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I can't swear to this because I'm far from an expert, but from what I've seen researching online, the 906 heads tend to have the reinforced valve seats while all of the 062 heads I've collected so far do not. Hypothetically they "should" be the same performance-wise, but despite several people asking I've not seen anyone actually do flow test comparisons between the two. It would probably work, but unless someone confirms the flow numbers are super close it might not be a good idea to mix and match them. If anyone has actually tried mixing them I'd be curious to know how it worked out.

Majoraslayer

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Annnnnnd as predicted, the 906 heads were cracked too. If I've learned anything, it's to never buy anything with a factory Vortec head on it.

Majoraslayer

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The 062 heads were mostly cracked around the valve seats. The 906 heads cracked down inside the coolant passages.

Aside from a specific version of the 906 heads having reinforced exhaust valve seats, I suspect I've discovered the main difference between 062 and 906 heads is the day of the week they were mostly likely to have cracked on.

I guess the main reason for the hype around Vortec heads is that they flow well, and I can confirm it. Exhaust, intake, coolant, it all flows anywhere it wants between all the cracks.

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
the 906 heads tend to have the reinforced valve seats while all of the 062 heads I've collected so far do not.