Time to start the upgrades. Exhaust questions.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Beason

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
1989 350 regular cab short bed

Shooting for 400-450hp eventually

Want a deep loud exhaust, with minimal/no popping.

Has to be bolt together as I don't have a welder.

Headers, high flow cats, x over, and duals out the back to a couple of resonator tips

Please include suggestions, links, etc. I am a novice so relying on the group for guidance.

Beason

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
400-450 Crank HP or Wheel HP?
Genuine question. What does the answer to that question change about what you would suggest? I know 400 wheel is going to be more than 400 crank, but what about the exhaust would need to be different in order to accomplish that?

To answer your question, I would like 400 wheel, but that depends on what these engines will hold up to I guess.

RDF1

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
If your shooting for 450rwhp then that would suggest you need the right amount of exhaust flow for it.
IF you wanted 400 Crank HP then you could go with a smaller exhaust that doesnt cost as much.

Dual 2.5" would get you the 400 crank very easy.
Dual 3" for 450rwhp would give you room to grow.

Ive never used a bolt on exhaust so i cant help you there.
Borla XR1 mufflers are nice and loud with a good tone.
2 of them after the x pipe would be pretty sweet.

GoToGuy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Take more than exhaust. The exhaust your asking for, is premium item , are you a smog regulated state? Whether you are or are not the answer is night and day what's possible.

Beason

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
If your shooting for 450rwhp then that would suggest you need the right amount of exhaust flow for it.
IF you wanted 400 Crank HP then you could go with a smaller exhaust that doesnt cost as much.