Phantom Grille Install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Valkyrie5.7

Thrashaholic
Reaction score
I want to eventually swap out my 96 grille for an 88-93 unit and run a phantom grille on it. There's a guy selling a 1990 grille for $20 on CL and I'm thinking about picking it up and painting it white to match the truck until I get the cash together for the phantom grille assembly.

Before you ask, I don't want to run the 94+ phantom grille because I think it looks ugly, personally I don't care for the stock 94+ grille all that much. I've never done one of these before and I understand that you have to do some modifications to the grille and recess the headlights. Has anyone ever done this before? Is it really worth the $300+ I see the kit going for? I don't want to get neck deep in this only to find out it wasn't worth it at all. Especially since this is my DD and it does get the lions share of real truck work.

Bigg G

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
94+ used composite headlights on all but their W/T model trucks so if you're planning to go with a pre 94 grille make sure you have the correct headlights to fit the grille.

As for the mod being worth doing on a daily driver that really depends on what your personal preferences are.
IMO I think the Phantom Grille swap was a great mod and has had it's time in the lime light but now is a bit outdated considering it's now 2010 but please don't let my 2 cents sway you . It's your truck so do what makes you happy.

Valkyrie5.7

Thrashaholic
Reaction score
94+ used composite headlights on all but their W/T model trucks so if you're planning to go with a pre 94 grille make sure you have the correct headlights to fit the grille.

As for the mod being worth doing on a daily driver that really depends on what your personal preferences are.