New PS Pump Whining...what am I missing here?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rogue

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
So I installed my new PS pump yesterday, a reman ACDelco pump, since I was doing the EVO delete anyway and my old one was getting pretty leaky. Replaced two of the lines too since I was there. This new one, though, is whining. I've never done this before, but is that normal? I did the bleeding procedure and all yet it's still doing it. I've read online, in general, it goes away in 3 days to a full week, but what's been everyone else's experience when doing this on the GMT400s?

Bob L

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Does the fluid look foamy when you first shut the truck off? That would mean it still has air in the system. Start it up and crank the wheel lock to lock a few times ,it may take some driving but it should go away if the fluid level is up.

Rogue

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Does the fluid look foamy when you first shut the truck off? That would mean it still has air in the system. Start it up and crank the wheel lock to lock a few times ,it may take some driving but it should go away if the fluid level is up.

I drove it about 2 miles this morning and it didn't look foamy. I'm going to drive it a bit this afternoon on the interstate and I'll see how it handles and if the noise is still there after I get back home tonight.

Rogue

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
After driving it a bit this afternoon (about 20 miles between interstate and highway) the pump is still whining, but less. And when I did check the fluid right after I shut it off when I got home, there were a few bubbles.

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score