New '95 suburban - new member

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

oltorftd

Reaction score
My names's John and I live in Provo, ut, but i'm from Austin, TX. I'm a grad student working on a PhD in developmental biology. I just bought a 1995 suburban off of my dad. I got a few ideas for it, after I finish a project on my 94 toyota pickup. The toyota blew a head gasket (at 130K miles :mad: so much for toyota indestructibility). My dad has been looking to sell this suburban for a while, since 4 of his 5 sons have moved out of the house.

About the truck:
180K miles
SLT trim
Red exterior/maroon leather interior
almost no issues - my dad babied this thing for the 11 years that he's had it.
It's not a Z71, I don't know why my dad stuck that sticker on there, but whatever.
Originally, we were only going to keep it for a while until I got finished with the 'yota, but i like it a ton better. The 'yota is better off road because it's smaller, but i like the suburban better. The toyota is my wife's.

I'd like to add some bigger tires and some different rims, maybe some ultra 164's. I'd like to make it a bit more off-road capable, maybe a lift. I want to swap in a 6.0 vortec and ZF6 transmission, but that will be a while. I would also like to convert the maroon leather interior to black... but... i have no idea how that's going to work. I don't want to paint the interior and make it all shiny.

I just added a media receiver today because there was no aux input in the stock stereo. I kept the stock CD player that's separate from the stock stereo. I'd like to hook that up to the CD changer input on the stereo. If anyone knows an adapter or something, or maybe a DVD player that I can put in that spot, let me know. That would be cool, but not necessary because I don't use CDs anymore.
Here it is:

You must be registered for see images attach