Hello From Seattle Area

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

93K1500BURB

Reaction score
Glad to find a place that can I can possibly get some advice for repairs that are beyond my knowledge.
I have a 1993 Chev. Suburban Silverado K1500 5.7. I'm a Newbie so hope this is where I can ask advice. Please let me know if I need to be somewhere else to post Newbie questions. Small issues, but having problems even with all the OEM manuals at hand.
#1 Tripometer has a mechanical issue, most likely a broken gear. After reading some posts here, I now realize I shouldn't had been resetting the tripometer while moving.
Can new complete tripometer units be purchased or new parts be found anywhere or am I out of luck? Very few wrecking yards left in my neck of the woods anymore, especially for older American vehicles, too many environmental restrictions around Seattle area.
#2 My Control panel for the Heater - A/C on the dash had the lights dim to the point it's not readable. Guessing burned out lamps or a bad ground. I've taken the unit apart thanks to a few YouTubes and removed the lamps. From threads I have read here you'all are saying they are 4mm which is what I also measured on the outside diameter of the plastic lamp holder. Question: can anyone tell me what the size# (like 74, T-5, or NEO?) or part number for the lamps do I need to order? I would like to stay with the OEM incandescent lamps. All help will be much appreciated! Thanks

thinger2

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Glad to find a place that can I can possibly get some advice for repairs that are beyond my knowledge.
I have a 1993 Chev. Suburban Silverado K1500 5.7. I'm a Newbie so hope this is where I can ask advice. Please let me know if I need to be somewhere else to post Newbie questions. Small issues, but having problems even with all the OEM manuals at hand.