headers/Y-pipe help!?!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

90-k1500

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to the site and joined specifically to ask this question but there looks to be a wealth of knowledge on here and I am exited to explore more of the site! but for now I need some help with this...

I'm looking at getting short or mid length headers and a y-pipe but none of them seem to match up? All of the y-pipes I've found look like they only accept a donut gasket but most of the headers look like they are just flat at the collector, I found some headers with donut gaskets at the collectors but they have a 2.5" outlet and all the y-pipes are 3" inlets?
the headers I found with the donut gaskets were called m2 manifold exhaust headers, I found them on ebay
I'm new to headers but there not that much more than manifold and my manifolds/y-pipe are almost rotted through.
any help would be awesome!

btw My truck is a 1990 k1500 5.7L ext cab

GMRedline

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I am a newbie here but I have been researching different exhaust setups for the past few months. When I decided to upgrade my exhaust, here is what I am going to do.

Buy a set of SS headers for an 88-95 1500. Maybe like these.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SBC-Chevy-8...Parts_Accessories&hash=item5d4a5934b9&vxp=mtr

I will have to block of my EGR but who cares.

Then find some used Y or crossover pipes from a 2500. Here are some pics of a 1500 vs a 2500

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

Replace the cats with some high flow ones.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-Thunderbolt-Catalytic-Converter-High-Flow-Stainless-Steel-/140941752250