Freshly rebuilt 4l60e granaded.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

joesenior79

Reaction score
Newbie here but desperately looking for answers.

Where to start...?
I have a 97' Tahoe I've had for several years now and have probably put more money into it than I'd like to admit.
The last was having the 4L60e rebuilt by a reputable transmission shop. After forking over $4k I wound up motionless on the freeway and needed to be towed back to the shop. Their explanation was that the torque converter wasn't properly shimmed and slammed back into the pump and destroying it. They "fixed" it.

About a month later, the exact same thing happened and back to shop she went. Once again it was "fixed" and she was back in the road.

But not long after, the whole rear end of the transmission case completely granaded.
Its a one peice case and I'm literally missing huge chunks of the tailhousing portion of the tranny right where it bolts up to the transfer case. I've searched and searched but can't seem to find a situation as comparable as mine to help shine a little light.
What would cause the major catastrophe? Is it the transmission shops fault? Am I to blame?
I've asked a completely different shop and they tried to tell me that my brand new U-joints caused it? If that's true, why isn't there any damage to the transfer case, wouldn't any vibrations or anything have to transfer through the transfer case to cause this type of damage, yet, the t- case itself not suffer any damage whatsoever?

Apologies for such a long post but I'm frustrated and baffled. Thank you for any insight

NickTransmissions

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Something is causing torsional stress on the trans there; the couple times ive seen a transmission come in with a cracked rear case it was a bad driveline.