Do I need gears??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCORCH

Reaction score
I'm not sure where to post his but since its the result of a lift i'll put it here...

I have a 98 GMC sierra half ton ext cab short box and I want a lift and bigger tires but i'm not sure where I'm headed yet. For now I think i'll stick with 33s...possibly 35's down the road but most likely i wont have the truck that long. I have 3.42s, If i run 33's do I have to change gears? (I've heard this is nearly the same thing as running 35s with 3.73s which is always recomended to change gears) If I do swap the gears I want good gas mileage because I'm only a college student making mostly long hauls home and back. I was thinking 4.10's. I'm hopeing if i ever do bump up to 35s this will still not be too hard on the tranny.

Is it really reccomended to do this? (like i said i'm trying to save money but i for sure dont want my tranny to go)
How much would it cost in all for the gears and most likey an install ?(which i heard is reccomened because of the front)

thanks

SlimT

Reaction score
If your just going to be running 33's I'm sure you'll be fine running stock gears. I've had 35's on for a year now with 3.73's, transmission is still in good shape, and still have plenty of power and get just a little worse mileage then when I had 33's. Hope that helps lol.

6chevy9

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
the 92 i have is on 35s with 342s. i dont recomend it but i havnt swaped them out yet. i think youll be fine with 33s and 342s. it just wont have as much off the line accel. and prob get a little worse milage. i think the trans will be fine.

Red97

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score