Coolant temp sensor question.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

magimerlin

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I could do that but prefer not having multiple gauges for what's already on the dash. I drive a truck for a living and drives me up the wall not to have a some what accurate gauge.
Yah I can understand where this would get annoying.......lol.... I don't drive a rig. I have driven a few f750's, when i worked for the power company building the power lines, and such with to many gauges for my liking though..

Think we can fit all these in our trucks....lol....
You must be registered for see images attach

sent from what use to be a great country...

1996k1500

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The stock gauge always reads low for some reason. Reason why I say that is I had my code reader on my 96 when I had it and it said it was running in between 190 and 205 all the time but the dash said 160/180 or so. If you can check it with a code reader or get an aftermarket gauge. I just run with it. Before I figured out that the dash reads low I put about 3 temp sensors in there thinking there was a problem. Nope.

Ironhead

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I honestly believe that the car/truck makers put gauges into the vehicles for marketing reasons, not because they want to help us monitor the vehicle systems. On my 98, the temp gauge reads low (good! trucks running cool); the oil pressure reads above the middle mark (great! engine's in good shape). Ditto for my Mustang GT. They just want to re-assure us.

The kind of owner that hangs out on this forum would prefer to know what the real temp and pressure are, so we end up with guys changing sensors, and installing aftermarket gauges.

Sampuppy1

Diesel nut
Reaction score