Intermittent vibration/shuddering in reverse

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bferguson1121

Reaction score
I have a 1989 K1500 350tbi with a 700R4 that has been having an intermittent vibration or shuddering motion only in reverse.

No issues with moving forward but when it happens in reverse the truck will stop rolling backwards like it's in a bind and then I press the gas is when the jumping/vibration issue happens. When the truck is not experiencing the issue in reverse the it's smooth like normal. Also this issue has been happening going on 7 months now.

I have been under the truck and checked the driveshaft/U-joints and everything seems okay. However I'm far from an expert and if anyone has had a similar issue or any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I need to replace the kickdown or TV cable because it no longer locks into the bracket on the TBI but I don't know if that matters because the truck still shifts without issues.

454cid

Sooper Pooper
Reaction score
I have a 1989 K1500 350tbi with a 700R4 ...I need to replace the kickdown or TV cable because it no longer locks into the bracket on the TBI but I don't know if that matters because the truck still shifts without issues.

I have never owned a 700-r4, but I suspect you have a transmission problem, not an axle or driveshaft problem. The kickdown cable is very important, and mis-adjustment can cause failure. I would not waste any time getting that fixed. Hopefully someone with more knowledge on the subject will comment and give more detail.

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Check your rear brake drums. Make sure there are no fluid leaks and that your shoes are dry and clean. Adjust the drums and reassemble.

thinger2

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
You absolutely need to fix that TV cable.