Front Receiver Hitch

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Westieterrier

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi Forum Members, I am new to ownership of my wonderful 1999 Chevy C2500 Classic long bed 2wd. This is the first of MANY questions I will ask as I set up my truck with my Lance Camper. But first, I am trying to find a Front Receiver that will fit, and the first two (2) I got from Amazon do not. The first one was for a 1999 Silverado, which didn't fit at all and is when I discovered I have a "Classic" 1999 pickup, basically a throwback to the 1988 - 1998 years (which I think is pretty cool). The second Drawtite front hitch bolts up just fine, but in angled so far up it hits the bumper. It can't be fully bolted and is angled too far (see pic). The part number is 65005 and its SUPPOSED to fit (I called the company). The front of my frame angles up towards the bumper. The hitch seems to want to bolt on something straight. I don't think I have an HD, if even that would matter. I'm complete at my wits end. Anybody have a suggestion. Would REALLY appreciate it. P
You must be registered for see images attach

mr_josh

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey there fellow Oregonian.

I have a front receiver on my K2500 (because I also have a truck camper and needed a rack up there). I looked at the installation instructions for my receiver and it calls out compatibility with C2500 6-lug models only, not the HD 8-lug. I don’t know enough about these trucks to say for sure but it looks like the 8-lug 2wd trucks have a different (angled) front frame section than the 4wd and 6-lug 2wd trucks.

I think I’d find someone with a welder and see about making up some wedge shaped spacers that you can bolt in to level it out.

Good looking truck and camper combo.

Westieterrier

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey there fellow Oregonian.