engine misfiring under load

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

OwenArkwell

Reaction score
Im new to this Whole forum thing so I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong spot but I have an issue, I have a 1997 2 door Tahoe with the 5.7 vortec and I can not figure out how to stop it from misfiring under load, have done plugs, wires, whole new distributor, updated fuel injection conversion, cats and so on. Ill be on the highway cruising at like 70 ill go to pass someone or go up a grade and the truck will start misfiring like crazy, and if I back off itll go away, but itll happen over and over again. Turning the A/C off helps make the misfiring not as violent but does not solve the issue, ive checked compression on all cylinders and there all 125-175 PSI. I have exhausted all my knowledge trying to figure out what is wrong with this truck. It is also worth mentioning that the truck is stock besides 32” ish tall tires.

OwenArkwell

Reaction score
I am not sure, I replaced the whole spider injection module which I believe has the pressure regulator already on it, and I dont think I dont think I mentioned this but cruising the truck runs 14.7ish:1 and under load it runs 12:1, and you can smell that its running rich and Today I pulled the plugs for the third time and some I can smell fuel on them.

mr_josh

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Did you replace the spider assembly to address this problem? Did this issue start suddenly or get worse over time?

OwenArkwell

Reaction score
Did you replace the spider assembly to address this problem? Did this issue start suddenly or get worse over time?