Ball joint notes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

skylark

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I did all 4 ball joints and both CV shafts on the dually. It was a job that I've never done before. I was confident that I could do them but I learned a few things along the way. First, is isn't that bad. I was intimidated by the job at first so I bought an air hammer, chisel set and a pickle fork set. I also rented a ball joint press from autozone. Make sure that you use a ton of lube on the threads of the ball joint press and make sure that you have a big cheater bar, mine was 4 feet long and that almost wasn't enough. Even with a bunch of lube the threads started to gall. I fought the joints with the air hamme pickle fork combo and it just wasn't getting the job done even at 140psi. Finally I used a river cutter on the rivets and then the punch and air hammer to knock them out. The rivet cutter was freakin awesome! Two seconds of air hammer and the heads were gone. I ended up using my pitman arm puller to get the ball joint out of the knuckle and it was super easy, a minute of work per ball joint vs. the hour plus that got me nowhere with the pickle fork. Otherwise the tools were basic hand tools.