Why are expensive hand tools better than cheaper ones?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Papablunt

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Why are expensive hand tools "better" than cheaper ones?
Real question here. Not judging what other people buy, just genuinely curious. School me!

I'm not a professional mechanic, but I have been wrenching for over 20+ years using Harbor Freight (Pittsburgh, not Icon) hand tools. Professionally, I was an elevator technician for 6 years, and Vail Resorts lift maintenance for 4 years - we used a lot of hand tools, and lifts are not built with small nuts and bolts. Due to neglect, I've broken a total of 2 sockets (chrome sockets on impact gun), and 1 ratchet (don't use a 1/4" ratchet in place of a serpentine tool). In both instances, I just grabbed another tool and finished the job up, then went to HF and got myself a free replacement. HF has treated me well, but I know everyone has different needs, so I ask thee.... If both tools hold up, and both tools have a lifetime warranty, why buy that $300 ratchet and not the $30 one?

umwtnt

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score