Where to begin

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dixietruck

Reaction score
I have never built an engine before, and would like to take a stab at it. I don’t really know where to start. It would be a 350 vortec. I would like to have more power, but retain reliability as much as possible. Where should I even begin?

kennythewelder

Officially Retired, B31-3 (6-G) certified welder.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Machine work has to be done when doing a rebuild. For what it will cost you, you can get a crate engine. That being said, if you want to keep your OE engine, then you can pull it, and bring it to an automotive machine shop. Have them do the machine work, then You can put the parts back on ( EG heads, timing chain, oil pan ECT). All of the fine machine work takes 100s of thousands of dollars of special machine lathes to cut and mill your heads, engine block ECT. Not to mention dip wash the block.

Last edited:

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What they said - get yourself a short/long block and research "bolt-ons" like cam, heads, TB, intake, fuel pump/pressure, exhaust, mufflers, etc.

Do your homework before your even start...

Dixietruck

Reaction score
Machine work has to be done when doing a rebuild. For what it will cost you, you can get a crate engine. That being said, if you want to keep your OE engine, then you can pull it, and bring it to an automotive machine shop. Have them do the machine work, then You can put the parts back on ( EG heads, timing chain, oil pan ECT). All of the fine machine work takes 100s of thousands of dollars of special machine lathes to cut and mill your heads, engine block ECT. Not to mention dip wash the block.
I understand the cost, I’m in this purely for the sake of being able to say I can do it.

Dixietruck

Reaction score