What shocks are people running.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Casey1104

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am thinking about getting Bilstein 5100 4-6 inch shocks for my lifted truck I have heard a lot of good things about these shocks.

454cid

Sooper Pooper
Reaction score
I had the stock size yellow Bilsteins on my truck. I decided to replace them because I was having an issue and figured they were due...I think the problem was actually a tire. The old Bilsteins had more resistance to them than the brand new shocks I was putting on. They're the heaviest shock I've ever seen. I cleaned them up and put them away for later. They'll probably go back on the truck at some point.

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I have no experience with the 5100s, but both of my stock height '97s are running the yellow and blue 4600s. I'm a big fan of them, they ride great.

DerekTheGreat

Forum Regular
Reaction score
On my '89 K1500, I'm running Monroe 34985's. I forgot whatever was there before but these firmed the ride up rather nicely, rides like you figure a truck ought to and isn't bouncy or floaty like it was before.

1999gmc

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Bilstein 5100s. I had the 4600 I believe(yellow and blue) when it was stock.

UGLYTRUK

Reaction score
I'm doing some front-end work on a 95 2500 4 x diesel Suburban. And the Bilstein shocks have unbelievably strong resistance. I think they're top of the line. I've had my share of Gabriel's and Monroe's and KYBs. The monroes made in USA are especially bad, and the Gabriel's made in Mexico were especially good. But I think these bilsteins are the best shocks I've ever seen. And then of course there's the old GM spirals from the 60s that last 50 years

EppNation

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score