Thermostat Opening Late?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

97C1500TJ

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I’m new to the TBI motors as my other 400 is a Vortec. I don’t think it’s normal but want to verify in case it is. The temp gauge on my truck from a cold start will climb to 210 before the thermostat opens. The stat is rated for 195. 210 isn’t overly hot but I think there could be a faulty thermostat or an air pocket. Any other ideas? Once it opens, it drops back down to 195.

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
The temp gauge on my truck from a cold start will climb to 210 before the thermostat opens. The stat is rated for 195. 210 isn’t overly hot but I think there could be a faulty thermostat or an air pocket.
Nah, mine does pretty much the same thing only the gauge shows it going to ~212° then leveling off at ~206°. The ECM is seeing ~194° with a high of ~198°. IMO the sensor in the head isn't getting full flow of coolant (plus it's in between combustion chambers) like the one next to the T-Stat housing. I'm running aluminum heads, a Tuff Stuff 1675A high flow aluminum water pump, a Flow Cooler 330-195 high volume T-Stat, and an oversize 3 row aluminum radiator - I'm not worried :biggrin:

97C1500TJ

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
That’s good to know. Another thing I’ve noticed as of today is that my new radiator cap is already leaking. Parts quality must’ve taken an even more significant nose dive this past year.

Nad_Yvalhosert

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Thermostats arent fully open until 23° after their designed temp rating. That means a 195° isnt allowing full coolant flow until 218°.
The later, more modern fuel injected engines run at high temps to reduce NOx.
210° is OK.
220° is... livable.

Last edited:

97C1500TJ

I'm Awesome
Reaction score