Tbi to Carburetor

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

D Barnes

Reaction score
Alright now I’ve got a 95 tbi truck with a 5spd manual trans . Performance wise it’s stock other than exhaust and I just got some headers for it (not installed yet ) . In your personal opinion what would be the best carb to swap over to from tbi I already have my intake but that’s all I have so far . Note I am a paint and body man I am not a mechanic at all I don’t know too much other than maintenance unless I take it apart then I can reassemble lol .

superdave

Proud NOOA Member
Reaction score
What are you trying to gain by switching to a carb? Worse cold starting? Worse gas mileage? Worse driveability?

I'm not hating, but unless you have modified your engine beyond the TBI's ability to support, I don't see the advantage to swapping to a carb.

D Barnes

Reaction score
What are you trying to gain by switching to a carb? Worse cold starting? Worse gas mileage? Worse driveability?

I'm not hating, but unless you have modified your engine beyond the TBI's ability to support, I don't see the advantage to swapping to a carb.

I want it carbed that’s all I’m gaining. Sounds like you’ve had bad experiences with bad carburetors.

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Swapping from TBI to a carb for no reason other than you want to is pointless. Like Superdave mentioned, you'd be creating lots of headaches that you have absolutely no reason to. It's your truck, do what you want, but you're probably not going to get much advice on the subject from those in the know here. I own both fuel injected and carbed vehicles and I'm always contemplating upgrading the carbed ones to fuel injection.

superdave

Proud NOOA Member
Reaction score
I want it carbed that’s all I’m gaining. Sounds like you’ve had bad experiences with bad carburetors.