TBI motor into a Vortec truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vikingdude

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I have been preparing to build a 383 for my 1997 Tahoe to get some extra power for street and offroad driving. I was chatting about it with a co-worker and he put me in touch with someone who has a full setup out of an older truck. A built long block with edelbrock performer heads and a 1st gen whipple (opcon autorotor) supercharger kit with the additional injector kit and the msd ignition retard module. He also has a built 4l60e and transfer case, and exhaust that go with it for what I think is a very reasonable price. Whole setup supposedly has about 10,000km on it, and I have no reason to doubt him based on what I can see.

How difficult is it to retrofit the TBI style motor into a truck that originally came with the Vortec? I found lots of info on the opposite. What computer would I need to control this beast? Would this require an engine harness from an older truck? Am I better off sticking to my 383 build and keeping it simple? The owner kept saying it should all be plug and play, but Its clearly not that simple. AC and Aternator are on opposite ends of the engine bay, so likely new hoses and cables. I'm not scared of a project, but the road map isn't clear to me, as Im a bit oblivious to the differences between the early and late model years.

Attachments

• 350whipple.jpg
    350whipple.jpg
    159 KB · Views: 24

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
How difficult is it to retrofit the TBI style motor into a truck that originally came with the Vortec? I found lots of info on the opposite.
"Fitting" the engine is zero problem. Everything bolts right up.
"Fitting" the supercharger, and getting it to run without dicking with the computer may not be so easy.