Short Ram (Warm Air) Intake?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chubbusket

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post on the forum. I know enough about engines to get myself into trouble, but I am not an expert by any means. I did some searching before posting but I didn't really find an answer to my question.

The vehicle in question: 1997 K2500HD, 5.7L V8, 4L80E

I just got it last year I am currently stripping it bare and rustproofing the frame. Unlike most trucks in the northeast, it is relatively rust free and I want to keep it that way.

When I started searching for information on short ram intakes, what I found was threads about cold air intakes and people who were concerned with getting more power. I'm not going to venture into that debate, since my question is the opposite. I would like better fuel economy, not power. The 4.10 gears already use enough gas as it is. My thought is that having the air filter pretty much right off the intake manifold will probably lose ~10hp, as compared to the fancy airbox that goes into the fender, for some efficiency gains.

The reason I am considering installing a different intake is that I want to remove the stock airbox and use that location as a place to attach a plow motor and pump. I live in Maine. It gets very cold. Having a warm air intake will probably help some with fuel economy when I am plowing at ~0F, right? I already tried mounting the plow motor where the "storage box" sits above the windshield washer reservoir but it didn't work very well last season. There just isn't enough room in that area for the valve body and hydraulic lines without interfering with the serpentine belt or all of the other gadgetry.