Rust Repair... good tutorials?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JeezLouiseGMC

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
My poor K1500 has spent many a winter up here in Kentucky and as a result my cab corners and rockers are a little crusty.. i am excited to undertake a little bodywork seeing as I have never done it before, but i am wondering what advice or tutorials yall might have. and advice is appreciated!

JeezLouiseGMC

letitsnow

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I would decide what you are after before you start this project. If you are just hoping to make the truck a solid driver - that can be done, and you will help keep it solid by welding in new rockers and cab corners. If you are looking to 'restore' the truck, usually rust repair is a never ending job - never really going to fix it all without spending way more than the vehicle is worth. It is a lot of crappy work. Many body shops won't even do it, no matter how much you pay them.

Reaction score
Its not as bad as people make it out to be. Just sand it to metal, grind out the corrosion, patch as needed and cover her up! With a dual action sander and 80 grit discs, it took me about 12 man hours to get the whole bed down to bare metal with all of the corrosion ground out.

Reaction score
although, how nice you want to make it look when you're done makes a huge difference in the time it takes to recoat. For example, if you couldn't give 2 ***** about surface finish or dents and whatnot you could just shoot an epoxy primer and top coat with poly in the same day. Or if its a spot repair just to kill corrosion, a rattle can touchup isn't unreasonable. just don't expect it to last as long.

kennythewelder

Officially Retired, B31-3 (6-G) certified welder.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score