Oxy/Acetylene Setup... what do I need to know?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
I'm looking at torches and I found one that the seller and I may be coming close to working out a trade (craigslist ad below). I'm somewhat new to oxy/gas torches and I just what to know what to look for if this trade goes through so I'm not getting screwed. I was planning on meeting at a local welding supply store and let the 'experts' look it over too but I just want to go armed with some knowledge before that point. Thanks!!

https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/wsh/bar/d/new-richmond-oxy-acetelyne-torch-kit/7123894663.html

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I had a Smith set years ago (that torch body looks familiar). It worked well but finding parts wasn't the easiest, they're available but, at the time, I had to drive 25 miles to a big welding supply shop downtown. I prefer the Victor "Journeyman" set but, it's $$$$ I can't tell if it has them but you should get flash back arrestors on it, they're required by OSHA in the industrial setting.

https://www.amazon.com/flashback-arrestor-set-acetylene/s?k=flashback+arrestor+set+for+acetylene

evilunclegrimace

Does not always play well with others
Reaction score
A couple of things come to mind. In my neck of the woods you need to have a rental/lease agreement to get bottles filled, some shops will only fill their bottles. That is something to find out about before you buy the bottles You can get NEW torch and hose kits for $350.00. The bottle cart is nice if you need to move the bottles around but you can do a lot with the bottles strapped to the wall. I think you might do better than $750.00. JMO

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score