opening questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

swstevenson

Reaction score
Hey folks, glad to join and hopefully learn a lot. Not a mechanic by any means but I know my way around a vehicle and garage. I’m bought a 1990 gmc c2500 flatbed with the 454 for my company as I’ll be hauling an enclosed 7x16 almost all the time, but I plan on using it as a general point a-b kind of truck too. So far I love it, but I have some questions for y’all!

1) the truck has been run hard but has about 169,000 miles, and is in decent running shape. What are the first things I should do with this new truck mechanically?

2) I’m new to the big block as The biggest Truck I’ve had was a 5.3 1500.. what are tips for an older model big block to really get longevity out of this thing as a hauler?

3) it’s a work truck so I’m not worried about scratches, or dents, but I wanna make it look cool while keeping the functionality of what I’m doing…I can’t seem to find any 2500 (2wd) specific lifts for it, and I’m scared to put the lift spindles for the 1500 on there since it’s going to be hauling.. any suggestions on lifts? Just wanna give it a mean stance. Would the 1500 spindles work?

4) I’m a Valvoline guy and use full syn in my 2008 Chevy, but I’ve heard not to use full syn in these older models… any suggestions on what oil these big guys like?

thanks for the input and I’m sure I’ll have more questions to add as I drive the wheels off!

kennythewelder

Officially Retired, B31-3 (6-G) certified welder.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score