OBD port not working

Discussion in 'Engine Performance + Maintenance' started by scott_williams2, Mar 9, 2019.

Sponsored By: Car Parts
  1. scott_williams2

    scott_williams2 Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS
    i have a 95 k1500 wit 350 tbi. My check engine light just came on. My truck isn't running differnt but the lights still on and I'm really ocd about my truck. Well I tried scanning it with my friends scanner and then oreilys neither are scanning. I checked all my fuses everything looks good. It's not a major problem but I would like to fix it if I could. Any suggestions?
     
  2. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    Your 95 is an oddball, it was the transition year from OBD1 to OBD2 for GM. In 96 everybody went to OBD2. Yours is probably OBD1 with the OBD2 connector.
     
  3. scott_williams2

    scott_williams2 Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS
    Yea usually I used a obd2 scanner wit a obd1 connector but it doesn't work anymore. Anyway I used the ole school paper clip flash method and its shooting code 13 which is o2 sensor. Like I said truck drives fine is there any reason I should change it? Does it affect gas mileage or anything
     
  4. delta_p

    delta_p OBSession Junkie

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    Alabama
    Probably makes the mileage worse. A 13 means the truck decided it isn't functioning or connected, and runs in open loop without the o2 input.

    To see if it is intermittent it takes 50 key cycles without anymore fault, or remove the battery voltage for 10 sec to get the MIL off, or clear with the scanner.
     
  5. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    X2 - it'll run rich and, if you don't fix it soon you'll definitely ruin the sensor and run a chance of burning up your cat.
     
  6. scott_williams2

    scott_williams2 Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS
    Cmon now Man U know these old trucks ain't got cats anymore jimbob redneck who owned it before me cut em out took em to the scrapyard years ago lmao
     
  7. scott_williams2

    scott_williams2 Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS
    But anyway thanks guys. Like I said truck runs pretty good no misses even tho it shakes bad at idle. RPMS don't move tho but I figured I'll fix it anyway I ordered the sensor last night off Rock auto. Far as I can tell I only have one on the passenger side and it's a heated 3 wire one. I'll post an update when I put it on
     
  8. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    LOL - unfortunately here in Maricopa County AZ they stick a sniffer up my pipe every 2 years.
     
  9. bowtie-72

    bowtie-72 OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I thought they were doing away with all those emissions tests?
     
  10. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    Not that I know of, I'll find out in 2020 when mine comes up for renewal - just passed last year. I think Maricopa County is the only one in AZ that requires it.
     

Share This Page