O2 Sensor failover???

Discussion in 'Engine Performance + Maintenance' started by Motorsports-X, Jul 31, 2020 at 11:45 PM.

Car Parts
  1. Motorsports-X

    Motorsports-X Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Location:
    NWA
    If one of the upstream sensors fails, will the ecm still trim based on the other sensor? 96 k1500.
     
  2. RawbDidIt

    RawbDidIt I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yes, but only if it recognizes that it has failed. If the O2 sensor sends incorrect data, it won't recognize that it's failed at all. Why do you ask?

    Sent from my SM-N976V using Tapatalk
     
  3. Motorsports-X

    Motorsports-X Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Location:
    NWA
    I have no sensors connected currently. And only one hole to put a sensor (until i get my new headers) the wiring Is also damaged so trying to figure out which bank to wire into. It currently just shows codes for circuit failures as no o2 is present.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2020 at 8:57 AM
  4. RawbDidIt

    RawbDidIt I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    It'll run open loop without the O2 sensor plugged in. Not very efficient, but it'll work. Plug in the one on the bank that has the bung, and install a bung on the other.
    https://www.summitracing.com/parts/...sM6sgLBXxO17pOCmLdhKU81FrG8ILRaEaAmtaEALw_wcB

    Sent from my SM-N976V using Tapatalk
     
    kennythewelder likes this.
  5. Motorsports-X

    Motorsports-X Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Location:
    NWA
    I bought a new sensor and the wiring kit to repair it. Im just trying to get it too run closed loop until i get my new headers and exhaust done. I was thinking if i wire b1s1 and leave the other two disconnected it will still trim.
     
  6. RawbDidIt

    RawbDidIt I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    How long are you trying to run it this way? If anything is wrong in bank 2 the ECM won't be able to compensate, and it definitely won't pass inspection

    Sent from my SM-N976V using Tapatalk
     
  7. Motorsports-X

    Motorsports-X Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Location:
    NWA
    Its run with no sensors for 4 years. Very roughly. Built engine and its not happy. Ill have headers and new exhaust in a few weeks. Thats also part of the reason im trying to get the wiring sorted out now.
     
  8. RawbDidIt

    RawbDidIt I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    4 weeks isn't too long compared to 4 years lol. Yeah get the wiring fixed, and install the one, it'll still show a code, but it should run better.

    Sent from my SM-N976V using Tapatalk
     
  9. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    1,831
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    Even with an O2 sensor, it may not be happy with your built engine. Depending on how modified it is you'll need a tune before it'll get happy.
     
  10. Motorsports-X

    Motorsports-X Newbie

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Location:
    NWA
    So im trying to get the wiring sorted. after i have everything working i have a 411 waiting for swap and a buddy of mine has hp tuners. But im still having trouble just getting the o2 plugs sorted at this point. Im gonna make a seperate post about it below
     

Share This Page