Normal operating temp for 4L80E in a plow truck?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

upper_tanker

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I have a 2000 k2500 regular cab with a 454/4L80E in it. This is my first year plowing with it. I noticed that during the first snow, once I got rolling with it, the trans would kind of hesitate once you put it in reverse and gradually pressed the gas pedal. It would do this until about 5-10 mph in reverse, and then it would "go" like normal.

The next time out, I decided to grab my BT OBD2 dongle out of my Tahoe and plug it in while I was plowing to see what the temps were. It was a 30-40 degree night, so not cold by any means. Once I got going at a steady pace in a parking lot, I was seeing temps of 210-220 degrees F. Once I'd leave the lots and start moving, it would go to 180 or so, even on the expressway.

I feel like this is an absolute issue, but I am looking for advice from you here. My rebuilt 60E In my Tahoe doesn't get above 150, but I don't plow with it. My dad has plowed with this 2000 for the past 10 years, but he says he doesn't remember it doing the reverse issue thing that I said earlier in this post.

The truck has 160k miles and is still in pretty decent shape. There is absolutely NO issues in any of the forward gears, or shifting out of/into gears. The truck has a trans cooler with a fan on it. I have no clue if it's stock or aftermarket, but it looks stock the fan IS working.

TL;DR - is 220 degrees F too hot for a 4L80E in a plow truck? Also, could this be causing my reverse issue? I'd at least like to get this season out of it plowing before I pay to have it rebuilt.

thinger2

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The temp is not causing your reverse problem.
The reverse problem is causing the temp.
The 4l80e is a pretty damn stout and reliable transmission.