NFG looking for help with '97 Tahoe suspension height

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DOGFACE

Reaction score
First post from a FNG...

Picked up a high mileage 1997 two door Tahoe SLT 4x4, which originated out of Utah, for frame and body are relatively clean, despite assorted dings and dents... which is gold here in Michigan where everything rusts out overnight.

Ball joints appear to have been replaced recently. Front end sits much lower than rear end, with significant positive camber (top of tire sticks out wider than where tire meets pavement... I'm a newbie, just want to clarify). Drives straight as an arrow.

The rear suspension shackles appear stock, I don't see a lift leaf on the stack.

The truck wears a set of P265/65R18 tires/aftermarket rims, that came with it, which will be promptly be swapped out with a set of factory 2019 GMC Sierra P265/65R18 takes offs (the current aftermarket wheels are a bit too bling for my taste...).

I am asking from those with tangible experience, as I don't want to chase my tail (more than necessary anyway).

If I understand correctly, torqueing the torsion bars for a lift creates negative camber? Considering that my front end exhibits obvious positive camber, and sits significantly lower then rear axle, would it be safe to assume that the front end may have been torqued for lift, and then received a proper alignment..... and then the next owner lowered the torsion bars (for whatever reason)?

If I get my ass under the truck and torque the torsion bars for lift, I will counter the current positive camber?

Regardless, I will knock out a front end alignment regardless, the new factory set of wheels/rims where not cheap (though cheaper than most aftermarket tire/rim choices).

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score