Need some help with my A/C PLEASE

Discussion in 'Audio + Electronics' started by Bigred81, Aug 4, 2020.

  1. AK49BWL

    AK49BWL GMT400 Forever!

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    569
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Right, the fan does need to be on for the A/C switch to work. Simple way to bypass that is simply remove the green wire at the fan switch. Something I've done on mine, because in addition to turning the A/C off, it also forces your mode door back to the floor instead of wherever you want it positioned.
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  2. AK49BWL

    AK49BWL GMT400 Forever!

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    569
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    I have this forum to thank for a lot of it lol. The rest I've gotten from ripping into my own truck. I'm great with electrical...It's mechanical stuff I'm not altogether up on lol
     
    HotWheelsBurban and SUBURBAN5 like this.
  3. SUBURBAN5

    SUBURBAN5 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Location:
    Houston
    Same here in a way.. accept I'm limited on both. Half my knowledge is from all the parts I've replaced on my rig
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  4. GreenZ98

    GreenZ98 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    394
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2017
    Location:
    Moultrie, Ga
    Man I really hope you can track this down cause I'm having the same issue with my 06. Replaced every component of the a/c system from the condenser to the controls and the compressor will still only come on if I jumper it at the relay.
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  5. Bigred81

    Bigred81 Newbie

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utah
    AK49BWL Thank you so much. I’ve ordered a new resistor to see if that helps with the fan. The high cut off switch is under 250-360psi so I have to get the system discharged. It’s basically just a schrader valve like on tires for air. After replacing them I’m hoping it helps. You mentioned something earlier about the blower only blowing on the floor. It’s funny you said that. Because it now only blows air on my feet. No matter where I put it. Won’t come out of the dash or the defroster. Earlier today it worked but not now. Could you explain what that is again? I read your messages a dozen times to try to decipher them. I’m really no good at electrical. I have a pace maker in my chest and I get scared about frying it. But I’ll risk it for cool air so my kid can go with me. And just to clear up my blower works fine. Just won’t work on high still. But the other setting all work.
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  6. AK49BWL

    AK49BWL GMT400 Forever!

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    569
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    Still sounds like you might have picked up a faulty HVAC controller, but maybe not.. Try this for me: on the far right of the back of the controller, there's a gray connector. The green wire three from the top, see if you can remove it from the connector, OR, the green wire on the switch connector (which should be in position "D"). This is the A/C Disable wire. If that does not fix the mode door and A/C problem, I would sincerely look into finding another HVAC controller.

    Also just want to verify something, when you redid your connector, you put the orange wire next to the brown wire toward the outside of the connector right?


    For that matter, try using the A/C switch with the fan switch connector unplugged completely. That should rule out the A/C Disable wire directly.
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  7. east302

    east302 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Location:
    Jackson, MS
    Once you select high, the resistor is out of the equation. Voltage goes from the a/c panel (blower switch) to the blower relay instead, bypassing the resistor. The relay is on top of the box next to the resistor. This switches the blower to be powered directly from the fuse box, so make sure the 50A fuse is good.

    If you have a mulitimeter it’s a quick check to see whether it’s the relay or blower switch. Let us know and we can walk you through it.

    [​IMG]
     
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.
  8. Bigred81

    Bigred81 Newbie

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utah
    Ok. I can understand that. Thanks for making it simple. Lol. I’ve got a really busy next two days ahead of me but I’m going to try to dig in to it. Once again I appreciate your time and help. Thank you. I’ll post results as soon as I do it. Thanks again.
     
    HotWheelsBurban and AK49BWL like this.
  9. sbduncan

    sbduncan Newbie

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Location:
    Alabama
  10. AK49BWL

    AK49BWL GMT400 Forever!

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    569
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    Longview, TX
    HotWheelsBurban likes this.

Share This Page