Need help with TPS

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Frisco

Reaction score
So I have a 1995 c1500 pulling a low TPS voltage code (22) I have replaced the TPS gone through the service manual and it said either faulty TPS or bad connection i cant really see anything that looks like there would be a faulty connection but I'm pretty new to a lot of this stuff and Ive hit a roadblock so ill take any advice

AuroraGirl

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
So I have a 1995 c1500 pulling a low TPS voltage code (22) I have replaced the TPS gone through the service manual and it said either faulty TPS or bad connection i cant really see anything that looks like there would be a faulty connection but I'm pretty new to a lot of this stuff and Ive hit a roadblock so ill take any advice
your TPS has a 5 volt reference, a ground wire to the ECM, and also return wire that changes voltage according to position. ddi you properly install the TPS and can you probe the wire coming off the sensor as Return for voltage from low up to 4.50 ish and be consistent increase directly tied to operating the throttle with your hand

if that works, your wiring is bad some where on that line after your hand touching it and the ECM or the ECM has an internal issue.

AuroraGirl

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
if your 5volt reference isnt there Or it changes or isnt 5 volts, you have other problems. They can get complex but it should always bee 5 volts at key on and when doing the throttle changes.
the ground being an issue would also affect things but that can get involved too.Your ECM ground is the first thing id check assuming the ground is not interupted all the way to the ECM.
to my knowledge, there is a ground on your thermostat housing. is that there?

Frisco

Reaction score