Need a rebuild manual, and direction

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nhyrum

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Tl;dr. Rebuild manual and parts kit recommendations? Pay to get it rebuilt? Buy a rebuilt one

Well, ol reliable popped the bed(95 c1500). Honestly, I'm surprised she made it home after seeing this. I'm somewhat mechanically inclined. I've rebuild the rear end in a 93 suburban I had, as well as the transfer case, and helped a buddy tear down an older power stroke, but I've never been in one of these boxes of voodoo magic. The last 6 years I was a service technician for a canon dealer fixing anything from small office printers to large production machines. So I at least know what end of a screwdriver to hold.

That being said, what would be a good manual that someone such as I could follow, that would walk me through it? Watching the keyboard warriors video bible (youtube) I've got an idea how they come apart and go back together, but manuals are great. Should I go the overall myself route, I'm thinking of getting something akin to monsters "monster in a box" even though the great and powerful tbi 4.3 doesn't even come close to 500 hp. I don't think I necessarily need a hardened sun shell, but I see the benefit. Since it's just my a to b daily, I'd like to keep the shifts soft, and the 4.3,tow? Yeah no. Not unless I have to. But I'd like to put all new steels and frictions, the wider band, and other things that the factory should have done. What kits would you guys recommend?

Being a 95, from what I hear, if I were to go the route of getting a rebuild transmission from somewhere, it would have to have come from a 95, correct? I've got limited funds of about a grand, but I've got a vehicle I can use in the mean time, for really as long as I need.