Narrowing down common TBI problems...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've been wrenching for thirty years, and I've set points once - on a two-cylinder Wisconsin engine an in Air Force NF-2 that was DRMO'd a couple months later. Unless you're digging on the old school stuff, there's no reason to know how. It's an arbitrary skill, like writing in cursive. If you have to, you can watch a quick YouTube video and understand how to set one.

someotherguy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I've been wrenching for thirty years, and I've set points once - on a two-cylinder Wisconsin engine an in Air Force NF-2 that was DRMO'd a couple months later. Unless you're digging on the old school stuff, there's no reason to know how. It's an arbitrary skill, like writing in cursive. If you have to, you can watch a quick YouTube video and understand how to set one.
Simply difference of experiences - 30 years puts that around 1991, maybe a couple years less than I've been using tools to help me break things and invent new cuss words (I started on cars in 1987) - the first several dozen cars on my list of stuff I've owned were points ignition. Yeah, it's not difficult to understand how to set them, but like most things they are a mystery until explained. Also, GoToGuy's story dates back to around 1999 which predated youtube. :D

Interesting side note, even 15-16 years ago when looking for points for the 327 in my '57 Chevy 150 (swapped from a 235), the local parts house choices were slim.. with those junk clip-in terminals and overall low quality of the assembly, the dwell was changing on its own and the car would start running badly pretty quick. Had to order a set of Accels and wait a few days for 'em to come in.