My 1998 C/K1500 Story

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Here is my Chevy story and it is a good read I think....well here it goes............I have owned a couple of Chevy's in my past 40 years of driving. Mostly in the Northeast and yes they rust terribly. So I never owned one long enough to need to repair it and never had one really worth repairing.........Then I make a cross country move to Albany Oregon and first, here in the valley about 49+/- miles south of Portland everyone seems to have a truck. So when I was in need of a new vehicle I found two facts, one, mostly because trucks are popular in Oregon they run higher than what I have bought them for before.

However I then stumbled onto a 1998 white Chevy Silverado C/K 1500 4X4 for $2500.00 back in September 2019. Now I am no mechanic, just owned a lot of used vehicles in my lifetime so I have encountered many issues and learned a little each time...But I digress. Anyhow, I drove it around the block ......literally and then offered $2100.00 the lady accepted the offer right away. The lady told me it was a work truck (here in the grass seed capital of the world) this means it works on farms and towed all kinds of stuff. It also had 265,000 miles on the odometer, however it had an engine swap to a quote "A rated" used motor from a local pick your part. I believed her and completed the purchase.