Let's Talk Towing (With a 25+ Year Old Truck)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NightRunner

Resident Junkman
Reaction score
So I wanted to start a thread and get some personal experience from others about towing with their trucks, and wanted a bit of advice myself. I'm relatively new to my '91 C1500, and the only time I've ever had to tow something rather large was helping a friend move (which towing a loaded down car trailer filled with furniture in your 454/TH400 C10 isn't exactly fun).

I wanted to see what I should kind of look for before getting ready to tow moderate loads around 5000lbs max (including trailer). I replaced the stock transmission cooler with a better fin/plate setup and bought a transmission temperature gauge to monitor temperatures as well. Brakes pads and rotors were replaced up front, brake shoes and hardware were replaced in the rear, a new prop valve was also installed (deleting the ABS in the process however), and a full ignition tune up is planned when I replace my old coolant temp sender and thermostat (195 good enough for towing?). What else should I examine/replace?

Nathaniel2g

Rusty Islander
Reaction score
Suspension and brakes are the two biggest issues when it comes to hauling, IMO. You need to be able to stop the trailer and you need to be able to control the trailer. I'd be checking your springs for fatigue/cracks, your hangers, your spring bushings and your shocks, all in the rear to start. The trailer is going to ride more comfortably and you will be able to control it better if everything is tight.

Also a good thing to note; check your hitch setup. Chances are that hitch has been on your truck for the last decade, at least, and may have damage or be rotten. The hardware is probably going to be the first thing to go if you have a quality hitch.

NightRunner

Resident Junkman