Is 300 hp possible from a tbi

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

westsoundred

Reaction score
I have a 1992 pre-Vortec 350 that I am going to have to rebuild/replace at some point and I've been pondering an upgrade. I don't want to go to a carb (i like the reliability of the TBI). I'm contemplating a Vortec long block and possibly a Holley 670 TBI. My cat is gone; the previous owner took it out, and I have a Flowmaster 2" exhaust. I know next to nothing about performance chips, and I'm a little wary of a cam upgrade unless it comes with the long block. I don't trust myself not damaging the cam while putting it in, but I can be convinced to take a risk with enough coaching.

What is a realistic expectation on horsepower for such a build? Could I get to the 275/300 hp range with that setup? Does anyone have experience with this kind of build? I realize I'm shooting for the moon a bit here, I want reliability, fuel economy AND hp - or at least more then I have now. I'm planning on this build for next fall/winter, so I need to start saving the money and acquiring parts now.

thanks for the help/info,

Redneckgeriatric

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
if going with a long block, dont waste time/money/ complications with a cam change. if wanting more cam, build motor around the cam that fits your needs.

you are being unrealistic with stock long block and 300hp. set a realistic torque expectation, and reach it easily with stock longblock. and will appreciate tq much more than hp, and save tons of money you can use for keeping the old chevy up and running.
IMHO

Supercharged111

Truly Awesome
Reaction score