Installing engine

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

98k2500

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Quick question. I'm pulling the engine out of my 98 k2500 to rebuild it. This is my first time pulling an engintips?

I got the engine to bell housing bolts out ok.

So my quick question is. It seems like it's going to be a pita when I put the engine back in to line up the engine to bell housing to get the bolts back in. Any tips?

Nad_Yvalhosert

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Drop the exhaust
Drop the driveshafts.
Yank the t-case and the tranny separately.
Next, out goes the batteries, fan, radiator, and the entire accessory drive bracket system.
Leave the A/C and P/S intact, just drape them over onto the empty battery trays.
Unplug the engine wiring harness from the bulkhead.
Now the engine can come out.
Once the engine is on the motor stand, remove the wiring harness. Much easier access...

That way you don't ruin the distributer, fuel lines, or fragile sensor connectors.
Remember, this beast is 24 years old so check all rubber mounts for replacement while the engine bay is empty. Heck, now's a great time to pressure wash the oil leaks...

Upon reinstallation, get the engine wired, back on the mounts, and work from underneath to re-stab the tranny on the dowel pins.

Last edited:

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Watch your lifting straps or cradle to make sure you're not putting pressure on the distributor. I actually prefer pulling the distributor first.

98k2500

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Drop the exhaust
Drop the driveshafts.
Yank the t-case and the tranny separately.
Next, out goes the batteries, fan, radiator, and the entire accessory drive bracket system.
Leave the A/C and P/S intact, just drape them over onto the empty battery trays.
Unplug the engine wiring harness from the bulkhead.