Getting too hot at idle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

454cid

Sooper Pooper
Reaction score
I had a thermostat in my '83 RX-7 stick closed once. I caught it in time and shut the motor down. I replaced it the next day.

When I was a Nissan dealer technician, a 4,000 mile Altima on the used car lot had a thermostat stick closed on a test drive. The salesman tried to drive it back to the dealership. It got so hot the distributor cap melted, which finally shut the car down. It got a new motor.

Those are problems with the thermostat itself, Though, which is not what Shurkey was saying. I too have had a thermostat fail closed. It was in my 4.0L 89 Jeep Comanche. More commonly, I've had them fail partially open. My Saturn and Volvo most recently.

Reaction score
I had the same issue with my 95 K2500 Suburban, now if it was in park or neutral it would never over heat, I live in Phoenix so overheating can be a issue during summer months, what I found later on was: 1 the water pump was incorrect and was the wrong rotation, 2 the aux fan was pulling not pushing the air, 3 the ac pressure was too high. After all of that I still replaced the clutch fan set up with a flex a little dual fan system, I did have to get a 300 amp alternator as well but in traffic the beast runs at 210 degrees at 113 degrees outside with the ac on

John Moore

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey guys just an update:

I had my radiator/AC guy replace my entire AC system. Condenser, drier, compressor, hoses, etc. The condenser was original, and what I thought to be relatively clean, apparently was not.

I had him pressure test the cooling system and circulation, all was great.

It has been idling for over two hours now and has not gotten over 200 degrees. AC is ice cold and I could not be happier.