Gear pattern help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Michael Moore

Reaction score
Hey guys just was hoping for some help reading my gear pattern on a new carrier and set of gears that I'm installing. I'm new to differentials so I'm learning as I go. I feel like my gear pattern is off. Not sure if its the pinion depth or the backlash (backlash is .007) but was looking for a second opinion. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• 20211011_201459.jpg
    20211011_201459.jpg
    176.7 KB · Views: 22
  • 20211011_201422.jpg
    20211011_201422.jpg
    238.7 KB · Views: 21
  • 20211011_201544.jpg
    20211011_201544.jpg
    154.8 KB · Views: 22
  • 20211011_201525.jpg
    20211011_201525.jpg
    218.7 KB · Views: 22

evilunclegrimace

Does not always play well with others
Reaction score
I don't see any thing that would cause me concern with that pattern.

kennythewelder

Officially Retired, B31-3 (6-G) certified welder.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Your back lash is 0.07 and that good, but what is your opinion depth. that looks like an Eaton truetrak. Did you replace the ring and pinion.

Michael Moore

Reaction score
Your back lash is 0.07 and that good, but what is your opinion depth. that looks like an Eaton truetrak. Did you replace the ring and pinion.
Yes it's an eaton truetrac. I replaced the ring and pinion. Stock pinion depth was 2.538. The front of the new pinion was stamped 2.512. With the shims I had I came up with a pinion depth of 2.517.

kennythewelder

Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score