Comp Cams L31 Tuning

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jbfrench

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I'm new to all of this. I bought my first GMT400 last year and have been working on it off and on over the course of the year. I put a Comp Cams XR258HR cam in along with new pushrods, lifters, and springs. The stock tune isn't liking the new cam.

Can anyone recommend any tuning advice or a place to go for a mail order tune? I have a friend with HP Tuners but he isn't super experienced in tuning SBCs. I just want it to be a good street truck, no need for crazy power as I am only planning on putting headers on after this.

Thanks!

https://www.compcams.com/xtreme-ene...c-roller-cam-for-oe-roller-sbc.html#tab2.tab2

Redneckgeriatric

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
no such thing as mail order tune.
install headers and any other parts BEFORE paying $$$$$$$ for tuning.
find most reputable dyno shop and double check their experience / references

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
no such thing as mail order tune.

There absolutely is... It may not provide as good of a result as an in person dyno tune but there are options.

What year is the truck? If it's a '96+ I'd recommend Black Bear Performance. Pre-'96 you'll have to do some digging on the Gearhead EFI forums.

Redneckgeriatric

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
his truck will not be tuned. period. he will have a base map flashed to his eeprom. that is what he will pay for, and that is what he will recieve.

It may not provide as good of a result as an in person dyno tune but there are options.
exactly. not tuned.

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
his truck will not be tuned. period. he will have a base map flashed to his eeprom. that is what he will pay for, and that is what he will recieve.