Cannot read engine error codes

Discussion in '96+ Vortec Performance + Computer Swaps' started by aball, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. aball

    aball Newbie

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    just bought a '96 Tahoe from a British guy and now I'm trying to get it to run smoothly.
    Main problem is that I cannot read out the error codes. I'm using an Autel AL319 scanner which powers on but cannot communicate with the ECU. I tried two other scanners without success. I checked the wiring of the OBD connector and it looks ok, I also pulled and reconnected all connectors from the ECU, they all looked clean.

    Maybe a little background: the previous owner decided to go without catalytic converters and bolted on headers and a (nice sounding) Gibson exhaust. When I bought the car it was running badly, I figured that one O2 sensor was missing and the ignition cables were damaged. So I added the sensor and replaced distributor cap and rotor and put on new ignition wires. Check engine light went off and the engine runs far better, but since yesterday the light is back on and I have no idea why.

    Any suggestions what I can do to read out the error codes?

    Thanks, Andreas.
     
  2. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    Take it to Auto Zone or whatever parts store you have there? I know it's frustrating when you can't get it to work but, depending on your urgency...
     
  3. magimerlin

    magimerlin I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    2,424
    Likes Received:
    531
    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Location:
    Flatonia, Texas
    Check your cigarette lighter fuse. Alot of obd2 plugs run off it it for power.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
     
    df2x4 likes this.
  4. aball

    aball Newbie

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    thanks for the replies!

    Err, I'm located in Germany, unfortunately it is very hard to find a shop around here which has experience with older US cars.

    I checked the fuse and it is ok. If the fuse were blown, the scanner would not power up, right?

    I just saw that used ECUs sell on eBay for $50-100 including shipping to Germany. Would it make sense to buy another ECU? Can I just drop in another ECU (with matching part number of course) or does it need some reprogramming? Does it need to be programmed to my VIN?

    Thanks, Andreas.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2019
  5. aball

    aball Newbie

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Location:
    Germany
    I bought a 'new' ECU no eBay and I'm back in the game again. Worked immediately and I can read out data. Waiting for the next Service Engine light now. :)
     
  6. PlayingWithTBI

    PlayingWithTBI Desert Old Guy

    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Location:
    Tonopah, AZ
    Congrats - good to hear!
     
    aball likes this.

Share This Page