Best 2/4 Drop? Is it worth it?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Devyn Pyle

Reaction score
I'm new to the OBS community and I am very new to lowering trucks, usually I went the opposite direction. I was curious as to what the best lowering kit for a 2/4 drop is. I do want want to cut the frame, hence my height choice, also, is there any drivetrain problems that may be caused? If so could I be informed of a place that tells me how to fix it, or perhaps someone tell me how. Thanks and sorry for the newb questions...

ima93chevyguy

Zip-Tie Mechanic
Reaction score
I'm new to the OBS community and I am very new to lowering trucks, usually I went the opposite direction. I was curious as to what the best lowering kit for a 2/4 drop is. I do want want to cut the frame, hence my height choice, also, is there any drivetrain problems that may be caused? If so could I be informed of a place that tells me how to fix it, or perhaps someone tell me how. Thanks and sorry for the newb questions...

For a 2/4 you're gonna want to get 2" drop spindles for the front then 2" lowering spring shackles and 2" lowering spring hangars for the rear. If you wanted to go a little cheaper then you could get drop springs for the front instead but spindles will ride a little better.
Also you will have to get shorter shocks for the rear so I suggest going ahead and getting all 4 new ones.
McGaughy's and Belltech are usually the big companies that most people use, best I remember Belltech spindles push out the track width some but I don't remember all the details maybe someone else can chime in on that. Of course there are tons of companies that sell kits or the individual pieces.

I have spindles from ebay and then some shackles from ebay and then a friend gave me hangars for free.