Anyone good with VG30s?..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

__CHI__

Low Life
Reaction score
I just acquired a 1990 Nissan Maxima from my cousin. It’s a factory 5spd car with 140k,it’s kinda rough but that’s another story..the car jumped time on my cousin,so I’m about 110% sure it bent a valve or two. This has made me wanna beef up the old VG30 that came in it. I wanna keep in NA for now,but I was wondering if anyone would know what to do valve wise? What sizes? What cam? Or even would it be easier to just swap a VG33 head and then throw a cam in it?
I know someone on here has to be a secret Nissan fan lol I need your help!

Erik the Awful

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I was a Nissan tech back in '97-99, when these motors were 50% of everything Nissan. The KA24s were the other 50%. My memory's a bit fuzzy, so I checked Wikipedia, and yours is certainly a VG30E - the VE30DEs were only '92-94 in the Maxima SE. The only variation I ever saw in VG30Es, other than fuel/induction systems, was the VG30Es in the Nissan Quest/Mercury Villager. Ford insisted on a non-interference engine, so those have lower compression and a thicker timing belt. If I were to build any VG30, I'd use the cam sprockets and belt off a Quest. For naturally aspirated horsepower you'll want a non-Quest short block. If you're building a turbo motor, use the Quest long block and the turbo intake and manifolds off a Z31 300ZX Turbo with a VG30ET, a air-to-air intercooler, and a big turbo. I don't know as much about the VG33Es, but I do know there are VG33ERs out there. Their power output was weak for being supercharged - the VG30ET beats them hands down.

I'm 95% sure your valves are bent. The tech I interned with said he'd seen one case where a belt broke and the motor was okay, the rest needed valves.