AC repair/overview on a 30 year old truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

351FUN

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Truck as a 1992 Blazer. I'm looking to get my a/c working again and have had quotes from $750-1500, with my trusted shop saying to expect it to keep climbing as other parts fail. The previous owner told me the compressor needs to be replaced. The plug for the compressor is gone. There is a paper clip cheating the high pressure switch on. On top of that it's R12, so it needs to be converted. I don't have any of the tools for the pressure side of the system, but parts changing is cake. I do industrial mechanical/electrical/fabrication for a living and have done engine swaps, but I have zero HVAC experience. If I were to tackle this myself, what parts would I want to get and what needs to be changed? I could probabl save some money doing the mechanical bits and then bringing it to a shop, but I really don't know what's there past the compressor. Or even which compressor to get from Rock Auto.

Redduc1199

Reaction score
I’m not an AC expert by any means but I’ve converted a few tractors. If I was going to do this job I would start with a new compressor. Without looking it up you’ll either need adapters to go from r12 to 134 or new lines depending on where the adapters are located. I don’t know if they are on the lines or compressor. Get a receiver/dryer and an expansion valve or orfice tube depending on the system. I would take everything apart before ordering parts. Most of the tractors, the AC line connections are gauled fast. When and if you can get the connections apart the threads are destroyed.
Look up AP air for parts. Hopefully you can get your system going without needing to replace the condenser or evaporator.

Last edited:

351FUN

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score